Tampa Bay Lightning's Victor Hedman, Nashville Predators' Roman Josi and Colorado Avalanche's Cale Makar named Norris Trophy finalists

Tampa Bay Lightning’s Victor Hedman, Nashville Predators’ Roman Josi and Colorado Avalanche’s Cale Makar named Norris Trophy finalists

Victor Hedman, Roman Josi and Cale Makar were announced Monday as finalists for the 2021-22 NHL Norris Trophy, awarded annually “to the defensive player who demonstrates the greatest all-around ability in that position throughout the season.” .

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association vote for the award each year. The winner will be revealed during the 2022 NHL Awards at some point during the Conference Finals and Stanley Cup Finals, with dates and times to be announced.

Tampa Bay’s Hedman is Norris’ runner-up for the sixth straight season. He won the award for the 2017-18 season and placed third for each of the 2016-17, 2018-19, 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons. This season, Hedman recorded total goals (20), assists (65) and points (85) while anchoring the Tampa blue line en route to a season-high 110 points (the third-best in history). of the franchise).

Nashville’s Josi is a second-time Norris runner-up after becoming the Predators’ first-ever award winner for his performance in 2019-20. During the 2021-22 campaign, Josi became the most successful defenseman of the last 29 years, producing 23 goals and 96 points in 80 games. Only six defensemen over the past 50 years have earned more points in a single campaign than Josi, who helped guide Nashville to an eighth straight playoff appearance.

Makar, of Colorado, is a Norris runner-up for the second straight season and is looking to become the first-ever winner in Avalanche history. Makar led all defensemen this season with 28 goals and was second in points (86) as one of Colorado’s most dynamic players in a franchise-record 119-point campaign. The 23-year-old won the 2019 NHL Calder Trophy as Rookie of the Year and is the fourth defenseman in NHL history to be a finalist in any award category in each of his first three seasons.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.